The list below explains the current curriculum at our academy. Each level has a corresponding sash color. It is important to wear your appropriate level's sash so that the instructor can easily identify your current level. Each level's curriculum is divided into three categories: Forms, Qín Ná, and Horse Stance. Students are tested on these three areas in order to proceed to the next level.

DSC_0545-1Forms - Forms are patterns of movements that serve to strengthen students and provide a rigorous training regimen by which to practice the basics. The goal of practicing forms is to perfect basic techniques and to enhance students' muscle memory so that the techniques become second nature. Every level has at least one empty handed form and Weapons Training begins at level 2 with the first Dao (Broadsword) Form.

DSC_0529-1Qín Ná - Qín Ná (pronounced "chin na") literally means "catch & lock" but is commonly referred to as Joint Lock exercises. These movements comprise the basics of any self-defense curriculum and teach student how to protect themselves from attackers. Movements begin with simple wrist and elbow joint locks and gradually move on to more complex techniques such as grappling and throwing as the students advance.

DSC_0536-1Ma Bu - Ma Bu, or "Horse Stance" is an extremely important stance in Shaolin Kung Fu. Beginners are required to hold horse stance for at least 2 minutes during their first testing, and the length of this isometric exercise increases with each level. Conditioning with horse stance increases leg strength, and this training serves to improve the 18 Movements of Shaolin.

  • Forms: Wŭ Bù Quán - Five Stance Form
    Shăolín Lián Huán Quán - Shaolin Interlinking Fist
  • Qín Ná: Single Hand - 4 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 2 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Xiăo Hóng Quán - Shaolin Small Flood Form
    Shăolín Tōng Bì Quán - Shaolin Connecting Arm Form
  • Qín Ná: Double Hand - 4 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 3 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Cháo Yáng Quán - Shaolin Facing Sun Form
    Shăolín Yī Lù Dān Dāo - Shaolin 1st Level Single Sword
  • Qín Ná: Single Shoulder - 5 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 4 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Méi Huā Quán - Shaolin Plum Blossom Form
    Shăolín Yīn Shŏu Gùn -  Shaolin Yin Hand Staff
  • Qín Ná: Double Shoulder - 3 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 5 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Lăo Jià Xiăo Hóng Quán - Shaolin Old Small Flood Form
    Shăolín Qiāng - Shaolin Spear
  • Qín Ná: Single Hand Throw - 3 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 6 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Dà Hóng Quán - Shaolin Great Flood Form
    Shăolín Èr Lù Dān Dāo - Shaolin 2nd Level Single Sword
  • Qín Ná: Front, back, & Neck - 3 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 7 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Luó Hàn Quán - Shaolin Arhat Fist
    Shăolín Zhèn Shān Gùn - Shaolin Guarding Mountain Staff
  • Qín Ná: Finger & Hand - 4 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 8 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Zŭ Cháng Quán - Shaolin Great Ancestor Long Fist
    Shăolín Hè Quán - Shaolin Crane Form
  • Qín Ná: Advanced Techniques - 3 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 9 Minutes
  • Forms: Shăolín Pào Quán - Shaolin Cannon Fist
    Shăolín Qī Xīng Quán - Shaolin 7 Star Fist
    Shăolín Jiŭ Jié Biān - Shaolin 9 Segment Whip
  • Qín Ná: Legs - 4 Actions
  • Ma Bù: 10 Minutes